Resilience is the Key

Hello! It’s been quite a while! Anyways, I thought I’d let you guys know I’m a college graduate! I finally received my AA is Psychology. I felt the need to come here and write about it because I am still amazed I did it.

I am from a poor background, a minority and just unlucky it seems. While some are born with a silver spoon I was not. I grew up being constantly told I was not going to amount to anything. Being told because my parents were poor I couldn’t accomplish my dreams. (What shit people in all honesty. Who the hell says that to another human being?) But as I learned in my child development class some kids can be raised in bad circumstances and still make it. Why? Resilience. 

What is resilience? Here is the best definition I was able to find:

“Resilience is what gives people the psychological strength to cope with stress and hardship. It is the mental reservoir of strength that people are able to call on in times of need to carry them through without falling apart. Psychologists believe that resilient individuals are better able to handle such adversity and rebuild their lives after a catastrophe. (Cherry, 2016)”

Resilience is the one true gift I was given in life. The one good thing. So many people told me I was nothing. They told me I couldn’t do anything I wanted to. As if I was destined for it. And somehow in my mind I convinced myself they were wrong. Because they simply are wrong. The saying I can do anything if I put my mind to it does apply to me. And I have done it. I am the first person in my immediate family to go to college. The first to have two diplomas in my name. I may have taken me longer than other people but I did it.

I am currently applying to transfer to a university and I just CANNOT believe it. I told myself somewhere along my life that I would stop at an associates degree but I am filled with so much determination now that I have it that I can’t stop now. I will get my bachelors degree. It doesn’t matter how long it takes me. I will not allow others to make me feel bad for taking longer. I did it all on my own and that is something others will not be able to say.

I am a broke artist with an Associates Degree in Psychology.

And I am proud.

-The Broke Artist

Source Cited:
Cherry, K. (2016, October 06). What Is Resilience? (And Why It Matters). Retrieved May 16, 2017, from https://www.verywell.com/what-is-resilience-2795059
One thought on “Resilience is the Key

  1. Interesting that you mention a psychology degree and resilience in the same post. There are quite a few studies on resilience and its cousins (‘grit’ being the closest, but don’t count out the ‘flow state’) – perhaps if you’re even told to pursue an upper-level project, something to think about?

    Like

Leave a Reply

